Bibimbap, “Fusion-Style”

I like “fusion” to describe anything that is not quite authentic, even if it doesn’t really “fuse” elements from another culture.  Anyway, here is how I made my not so authentic Bibimbap:

From the regular mart: 

Rice, gochujang (spicy red paste)

From the Organic Box:

Egg, lettuce, bean sprouts, eggplant, water parsley

After getting the organic box of goodness, I made up three Korean sidedishes: eggplant, bean sprout, and water parsley. I looked up a few recipes online to get an idea of the basic ingredients and then just taste-tested along the way until I liked it.

To make up the Bibimbap, I added some cooked rice, chopped up lettuce, the three  vegetable side-dishes, some gochujang (red pepper-paste) and an over-easy egg.  Then, I mixed it all up with my chopsticks and enjoyed!  This picture is of the pre-mixed up state.bibimbap

 

 

One thought on “Bibimbap, “Fusion-Style”

  1. Great idea to make some banchan first! My bibimbap usually is just sauteed veggies with rice and gojujang. I’ll have to look up the eggplant banchan… sounds like a great twist!

Leave a Reply

